I have a mail filter which bounces all SPAM mail back to the original sender,
and the postmaster and abuse accounts at the ISP. Recently, AGIS, in their
wonderful wisdom, effectively shutdown our companies internet connection.
We are not an AGIS customer, and they said that they were trying to get rid of
our "mail bomb". They said that they will not take any responsibility for these
messages. They also say that they will not do anything about their customers
sending SPAM.
Just another example of an irresponsible ISP.
Becki Kain wrote:
> unfortunatly, AGIS does have legit people on their network. They do this
> thing called coolocation where you put your machine in a cabinet on their
> site. You do you your own dns, but you are given one of their class c's
> and, in theory, it is faster for you to talk to anyone else on their
> network because it never hits any of the outside lines - it stays on a 10
> meg ether around their coolocation site. So anyone who signs up for this,
> as I almost did, would be blocked.
>
> beckers
>
> On Thu, 11 Sep 1997, Ron Snyder wrote:
>
> > > > We only reject hosts whose primary name server is cyberpromo.com.
> >
> > We originally started with cyberpromo, and then added a couple of
> > others as their spam was forwarded to our spam collector account.
> > Because a _large_ number of these spams originated from within the
> > agis networks, we are currently blocking 2 /16's and 2 /24 that
> > belong to agis. Does anybody know of any legitimate** companies that
> > are in the agis network? I haven't had any legit mail bounce yet due
> > to these filters, but since I recognize that my logic in blocking
> > that many ip blocks is flawed, I'd like to know if my flawed logic
> > will bite me in the back side.
> >
> > The network blocks include
> > 205.254.164.0/24
> > 204.157.0.0/16
> > 205.199.0.0/16
> > 205.137.48.0/24
> >
> > I know that AGIS has several other networks, but these are the only
> > ones currently being blocked.
> >
> > It is my understanding that AGIS doesn't take any action against
> > spam-- if a large group of people stopped receiving email from AGIS
> > networks, is there any hope that AGIS would change their AUP?
> >
> > -ron
> >
> > **legitimate-- in this message, I'm using the word to mean companies
> > who have a business purpose other than sending UCE.
> > --
> > ron snyder snyder @
roguewave .
com | This space
> > Rogue Wave Software, Inc | intentionally
> > {news,unix} admin | left blank
> > ....transmission ends....
> >
> >
--
============================================================================
David Schnardthorst, Systems/Network Eng. * Phone: (314)838-6839 ext. 11
Stryder Communications, Inc. * Fax: (314)838-8527
869 St. Francois * E-Mail: ds3721 @
strydr .
com
Florissant, MO 63031 * URL: http://www.strydr.com
============================================================================
begin: vcard
fn: David Schnardthorst
n: Schnardthorst;David
org: Stryder Communications, Inc.
adr: 869 St. Francois Street;;;Florissant;MO;63031-4257;USA
email;internet: ds3721 @
stryder .
com
title: Vice President Information Techology
tel;work: (314)838-6839
tel;fax: (314)838-8527
x-mozilla-cpt: ;2
x-mozilla-html: TRUE
end: vcard
References:
|
|