At 01:00 AM 4/2/97 -0800, you wrote:
>Interesting. We;ve been thinking about blobking - or threaten to block -
>mail from certain domains from which we get a lot of problems.
>
>That of corse would affect the valid users from those domains.
>
>Has anyone done this? I;d be *really* interested to know what other
>list-managers think are the implications,
Yes. I run an SMTP firewall which permanently blocks mail from 45 domains,
including Cyberpromo, PromoNet, ShoppingPlanet and a bunch more. However,
the worst of the lot has been Earthlink and after weeks of no response from
Earthlink's administrators about the growing number of spammers using their
system to abuse others, I tossed Earthlink in my firewall as well. Any
Earthlink user who attempts to subscribe to a Magpie mailing list received
notice of this blackout. I know it's cost Earthlink at least two Magpie
list subscribers, who moved to local ISPs in order to maintain posting
access to the lists (a firewalled domain can still receive mail from the
list, it just can't post).
Worldnet.att.net will shortly join Earthlink in my /etc/hosts.deny file
unless it cleans up its act quickly. Worldlink claims that spammers are
using its machines as a relay and that they're attempting to plug up this
security hole.
-----------------------[ http://www.magpie.com ]-----------=o&>o---------
Steve Manes | Int'l Bass Players | for info, email
manes@magpie.com | NYC Motorcyclists | server@magpie.com with
94 Harley-Davidson FLHR | Triumph MC Owners | the message text, "lists"
95 Triumph Super III | Motorcycle Safety |
97 Triumph T595 | | N'Yawk, N'Yawk
|
|