The other day, I received a notification from Carl Paukstis (who publishes
a list of motorcycle-related mailing lists) that http://www.escribe.com/
was republishing mailing list content from a number of mailing lists, while
charging fees for banner ads.
One of my lists was on this site, and I don't recall giving them permission
to republish my list, nor had any of my subscribers (the owners of the
copyright on the material) done so. Complaints sent to addresses at
escribe.com and to the domain addresses resulted in the removal of the
list, but I've not received any direct response from escribe.com.
Please check http://www.escribe.com/ to see if any of your lists are being
republished without your (or your subscribers) consent. If eScribe is
replublishing list content without permission, such a violation of
copyright law (and common decency) should not be tolerated.
For your convenience, I have included the results of a 'whois' search for
escribe.com:
eScribe (ESCRIBE2-DOM)
5 Greenwood Place
Menlo Park, CA 94025
US
Domain Name: ESCRIBE.COM
Administrative Contact:
Paterson, Scott (SP231) rsvp@WARP.ORG
415-328-2255 (FAX) 415-328-5862
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
NOC (NOC41-ORG) noc@ABOVE.NET
408-367-6666
Fax- 408-367-6688
Billing Contact:
Paterson, Scott (SP231) rsvp@WARP.ORG
415-328-2255 (FAX) 415-328-5862
--
Dave Voorhis
mailto:dave@armchair.mb.ca
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~dave
Follow-Ups:
|
|