Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(April 1999)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Should iname.com be blacklisted?
From: David Shaw <dshaw @ jabberwocky . com>
Date: Wed, 21 Apr 1999 20:33:17 -0500
To: list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM
In-reply-to: <MM.924729903.1797.solva@ifi.uio.no>; from Thomas Gramstad on Wed, Apr 21, 1999 at 11:25:03PM +0200
Mail-followup-to: list-managers@GreatCircle.COM
References: <MM.924729903.1797.solva@ifi.uio.no>

On Wed, Apr 21, 1999 at 11:25:03PM +0200, Thomas Gramstad wrote:
> I'm looking for some good advice for the following type of situation:
> 
> 1. A subscriber sets a mail-forward from his current address at ISP 1
> to a new address at ISP 2.
> 
> 2. The subscriber's account at ISP 2 is closed, and address 2
> produces error messages to the list manager.  No clue to address 1
> can be easily identified, but ISP 1 can be identified from the
> headers or contents of the error message.
> 
> 3. When asked for help identifying the username and address, there
> is absolutely no response from postmaster at ISP 1, and ISP 1 is a
> big ISP that also offers domain names, so it's impossible to
> identify the subscriber address without their help.

This is a case where VERP is a very, very, good thing.  With regards to
iname.com in particular, I went through exactly the same thing with them.
I finally (after days of trying) called them up on the phone and said if
they didn't help me, they were going to be blackholed.  They then helped
me.

Unfortunately, based on your email address you seem to be in Norway, so
it's not a cheap call.

David

-- 
   David Shaw  |  dshaw@jabberwocky.com  |  WWW http://www.jabberwocky.com/
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
   "There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX.
      We don't believe this to be a coincidence." - Jeremy S. Anderson


Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: responding vs. spamming
From: David Shaw <dshaw@jabberwocky.com>
Next: Re: Topica and Liszt - the straight dope
From: Rich Kulawiec <rsk@gsp.org>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Should iname.com be blacklisted?
From: Thomas Gramstad <thomasg@ifi.uio.no>
Next: Re: Should iname.com be blacklisted?
From: John R Levine <johnl@iecc.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com