Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(April 1999)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: indecipherable bounce messages
From: John R Levine <johnl @ iecc . com>
Date: Thu, 22 Apr 1999 16:51:38 -0400 (EDT)
To: Nick Simicich <njs @ scifi . squawk . com>
Cc: list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM
In-reply-to: <3.0.5.32.19990422075907.03995100@127.0.0.1>

> I really hate the stupid alum relays at MIT. 

Same here.  MIT has the only mail systems that reliably and deliberately 
break bounce handling so badly that it defeats VERP.  I have a bunch of 
majordomo lists, and each message goes out with an envelope address like:

majordom-virt-list-user=domain@iecc.com

where virt identifies the virtual domain where the list lives, list is the
list name with punctuation squeezed out, and user=domain is the user@domain
recipient address.  It happens that the mail host is named ivan.iecc.com, so
MIT's mailer rewrites bounce addresses to: 

majordom-virt-list-user=domain%iecc.com@ivan.iecc.com

For one thing, I don't permit the percent hack and don't know anyone else who
does, since it practically begs spammers to use you for a relay.  For
another, although ivan.iecc.com is a host, it's not a domain that accepts
mail because other than MIT's brain-damaged bounces, 100% of mail to that
domain is spam to addresses scraped from usenet headers. 

I have daily security logs that show me attempts to relay through here, and I
can recognize the MIT bounces and handle them by hand, but I don't understand
why they think what they're doing is a good idea. 

Regards,
John Levine, johnl@iecc.com, Primary Perpetrator of "The Internet for Dummies",
Information Superhighwayman wanna-be, http://iecc.com/johnl, Sewer Commissioner
Finger for PGP key, f'print = 3A 5B D0 3F D9 A0 6A A4  2D AC 1E 9E A6 36 A3 47 



References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: Hiding a list in Majordomo 1.94.4
From: John R Levine <johnl@iecc.com>
Next: IMRSS notification considered NOT SPAM
From: "Tom Neff" <tneff@panix.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Should iname.com be blacklisted?
From: Nick Simicich <njs@scifi.squawk.com>
Next: Re: Should iname.com be blacklisted?
From: "Mally" <nemesis@paralynx.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com