Great Circle Associates Firewalls
(April 1996)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Wierd address observed
From: Michel Lavondes <lavondes @ tidtest . total . fr>
Date: Tue, 02 Apr 1996 12:13:24 +0100
To: mark . whetzel @ waii . com
Cc: Firewalls @ greatcircle . com
In-reply-to: Your message of "Mon, 01 Apr 1996 16:58:21 CST." <199604012258 . AA23856 @ voyager . wg . waii . com>

In message <199604012258 .
 AA23856 @
 voyager .
 wg .
 waii .
 com>, Mark Whetzel writes:
> > From: Brian Prentiss <brianp @
 goodnet .
 com>
> > Date: Mon, 1 Apr 1996 10:34:53 -0700 (MST)
> > Subject: Wierd address observed
> > 
> > I have noticed that someone from network 0, specifically 0.8.0.69 has 
> > been 
> > doing (legitimate seeming) DNS queries.  Is this network not reserved?  
> > I was under the (perhaps false) impression that network 0 was off limits.
> > 
> > Does anyone have any insight into this, or noticed any of this themselves?
> 
> Assuming this is not an 'april fools', the IP address 0.8.0.69 is one of 
> the many interfaces used by NS.UU.NET.  
> 
> [...]
> 
Not quite. There are bogus addresses for ns.uu.net floating around.
This is probably one of them. See the bind archives for further info.
AFAIR, this was discussed last week or week before last.

Michel Lavondes (lavondes @
 tidtest .
 total .
 fr)
#include <disclaimer.h>
** CDA warning : don't read this if you're under 18 **
Don't whistle while you piss
                Hagbard Celine


References:
Indexed By Date Previous: FW: Encryption Devices
From: Greg Brennan <brenngp @ onto . network . com>
Next: Re: firewalls and CKE
From: Kare Presttun <Kare . Presttun @ alcatel . no>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Wierd address observed
From: Mark Whetzel <markw @ waii . com>
Next: Re: mail addresses
From: bve @ vidnoe . yourtown . com (Bill Van Emburg)

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com