Great Circle Associates Firewalls
(May 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: (Fwd) Ukiah Software
From: "Michael H. Warfield" <mhw @ wittsend . com>
Date: Fri, 23 May 1997 11:16:59 -0400 (EDT)
To: jjasen1 @ gl . umbc . edu (John \"E.R.\" Jasen)
Cc: fg @ portal . com, firewalls @ GreatCircle . COM, postmaster @ savetrees . com
In-reply-to: <Pine . SGI . 3 . 95 . 970523091146 . 17314D-100000 @ umbc8 . umbc . edu> from "John \"E.R.\" Jasen" at May 23, 97 09:13:40 am

John \"E.R.\" Jasen enscribed thusly:

> > I traced this yesterday.  I don't have the info handy but - surprise! surprise! - the domain that I think 
> > actually sent this stuff has it's DNS handled by (really, you can guess this one) 
> > 
> > 			CYBERPROMO.COM!!

> Of course, this 'savetrees.com' is rather underhanded as well.. After
> fixing my procmail recipes to forward their spam to
> postmaster @
 savetrees .
 com (in triplicate), they contacted root here. *sigh*

	You mean there is liveware at postmaster @
 savetrees .
 com?  Great!
I get soooo much of their bullshit it's incredible.  Procmail hell!  I'm going
to do a sendmail.cf rull set just for them.  Anything coming for ANYONE at
iss.net, wittsend.com, commandcorp.com, bdcustom.com, or any of the other
domains I host or control could be redirected straight at these slimeballs.
Means I will have to take them out of my "check_mail" rule set that causes
mail from their address to pile up on their system till it times out.
(issues a 471 temporary error back when the Mail "from" is savetrees.com).

	Anyone know where I can get a recent copy of the rogue sites list?
Paul's site has removed it because of all the threats.

> Now I have to play nice and only send it once ...

	Yeah, but I can do it for several domains and networks!

> --
> "What do you want?" -- Mr. Morden, Microsoft Sales VP

> -- John E. Jasen // Systems Alchemist \\ jjasen1 @
 umbc .
 edu --
> --    My views are not those of UMBC, AFAIK. HTH. HAND.   --


	Mike
-- 
 Michael H. Warfield    |  (770) 985-6132   |  mhw @
 WittsEnd .
 com
  (The Mad Wizard)      |  (770) 925-8248   |  http://www.wittsend.com/mhw/
  NIC whois:  MHW9      |  An optimist believes we live in the best of all
 PGP Key: 0xDF1DD471    |  possible worlds.  A pessimist is sure of it!


References:
Indexed By Date Previous: RE: NAT
From: Bill Stackpole <BSTACKPO @ sla . com>
Next: RE: (Fwd) Ukiah Software
From: "Bruce M." <bkmarsh @ feist . com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: RE: (Fwd) Ukiah Software
From: Remy NONNENMACHER <remy @ synx . com>
Next: RE: (Fwd) Ukiah Software
From: "Bruce M." <bkmarsh @ feist . com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com