Great Circle Associates Firewalls
(March 1998)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: I little thought about the NSA hacked page...
From: Bruno Coelho Nunes da Costa <akbal @ visualnet . com . br>
Date: Sat, 28 Mar 1998 12:51:12 -0300
To: Firewalls @ GreatCircle . COM
References: <5A2946E305A7D111AB9700A0C969D86A227D2D @ wilma . nab . org>

Ok, I'm really surprised that in a mailing list like this, we can read
messages like the one saying that the NSA page was hacked. People were
going to www.nsa.org!!!

We can start thinking of the possibilities of web spoofing here... Just
imagine: In a high level list like this, a lot of people did the same
mistake... Imagine in the whole world, how many people put the wrong URL
while they are trying to visit a specific site!

Here in Brazil, a lot of people don't even understand why can a URL be
something like www.anythinghere.com. They just put www.everything.com.br!
So, malicious people can start registering similar names to spoof other's
pages (both ways... In fact, a lot of times a insert a brazilian URL
without the .br).

Now, Imagine someone registering something like www.somebank.com, a bank
that have internet banking services, while a real www.somebank.com.br
exists... The malicious hacker can really copy the real pages, just
changing the "submit" button on the password page to log the passwords in
a file...

Just my cents in www.somebank.com    :)

bcoelho @
 modulo .
 com .
 br
http://www.modulo.com.br





References:
Indexed By Date Previous: New weight loss discovery found
From: s4life @ slimmer4life . com
Next: Re: Ammunition, please
From: Jesse Brown <bextreme @ pobox . com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: RE: ALERT!!!!:Looks like the nsa got hacked
From: "Cody, Tony" <ACody @ nab . org>
Next: http://www.nsa.org/ Hacked!
From: Jamie Allison <jamiea @ dspl . com . au>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com