I recieved the following subscribe message addressed to
info-mime-request@cs.utk.edu. This looks suspiciously like an attempt
to flood that 800 number with junk faxes (probably from lots of lists)
and bill lots of calls to it.
I telephoned that number and it turns out to be a doctor's office in
Queens, NY. It's not even attached to a fax machine, and sure enough,
they are getting lots of calls with a high-pitched beep.
So you might want to check your lists and see if this same address is
subscribed... Also, since the subscription itself came from a listproc,
maybe the attacker was using that to cover his/her tracks?
Keith Moore
------- Forwarded Message
Delivery-Date: Tue, 07 Mar 1995 22:56:54 -0500
X-Folder: postmaster
Return-Path: <remote-printer.test/dest@4.5.7.4.3.9.8.0.0.8.1.tpc.int>
Received: from tequesta.gate.net by CS.UTK.EDU with ESMTP (cf v2.9s-UTK)
id WAA11357; Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:49 -0500
From: <remote-printer.test/dest@4.5.7.4.3.9.8.0.0.8.1.tpc.int>
Received: from epinet.com (listproc@router.epinet.com [199.227.49.1]) by tequesta.gate.net (8.6.9/8.6.9) with SMTP id WAA31834 for info-mime-REQUEST@cs.utk.edu; Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:52 -0500
Date: Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:52 -0500
Message-Id: <199503080356.WAA31834@tequesta.gate.net>
Apparently-To: info-mime-REQUEST@cs.utk.edu
subscribe
------- End of Forwarded Message
Follow-Ups:
|
|