According to Keith Moore
| I recieved the following subscribe message addressed to
| info-mime-request@cs.utk.edu. This looks suspiciously like an attempt
| to flood that 800 number with junk faxes (probably from lots of lists)
| and bill lots of calls to it.
|
| I telephoned that number and it turns out to be a doctor's office in
| Queens, NY. It's not even attached to a fax machine, and sure enough,
| they are getting lots of calls with a high-pitched beep.
|
| So you might want to check your lists and see if this same address is
| subscribed... Also, since the subscription itself came from a listproc,
| maybe the attacker was using that to cover his/her tracks?
Mayve the guys at tpc.int could be asked to weed out fax requests from
mailing lists to prvent this kind of misuse. And then snd a msg to
the list maintainer...
chers
|
| Keith Moore
|
| ------- Forwarded Message
|
| Delivery-Date: Tue, 07 Mar 1995 22:56:54 -0500
| X-Folder: postmaster
| Return-Path: <remote-printer.test/dest@4.5.7.4.3.9.8.0.0.8.1.tpc.int>
| Received: from tequesta.gate.net by CS.UTK.EDU with ESMTP (cf v2.9s-UTK)
| id WAA11357; Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:49 -0500
| From: <remote-printer.test/dest@4.5.7.4.3.9.8.0.0.8.1.tpc.int>
| Received: from epinet.com (listproc@router.epinet.com [199.227.49.1]) by tequesta.gate.net (8.6.9/8.6.9) with SMTP id WAA31834 for info-mime-REQUEST@cs.utk.edu; Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:52 -0500
| Date: Tue, 7 Mar 1995 22:56:52 -0500
| Message-Id: <199503080356.WAA31834@tequesta.gate.net>
| Apparently-To: info-mime-REQUEST@cs.utk.edu
|
| subscribe
|
| ------- End of Forwarded Message
|
|
--
Mathias Koerber Tel: +65 / 7780066 x 29
SW International Systems Pte Ltd Fax: +65 / 7779401
14 Science Park Drive #04-01 email: Mathias.Koerber@swi.com.sg
The Maxwell, Singapore Science Park
S'pore 0511 <A HREF=http://www.swi.com.sg/~mathias/mathias.html>MK</A>
* Eifersucht ist eine Leidenschaft, die mit Eifer sucht, was Leiden schafft *
References:
|
|