Some misguided person sent my entire mailing list an "e-card" from the
Heineken World Wide Web server in the Netherlands. A silly .gif file with a
message.
The Heineken site seems set up so you that you cannot contact the webmaster
or anyone at Heineken -- but visitors can fling messages/graphics files to
any e-mail address. (Most of the postcard sites I've seen send a simple
text notice that you follow up (or not) by visiting the WW site to see the
message.)
I did try to contact "postmaster@Heineken.nl" and
"Heineke3@www.Heineken.com" saying that this was a BAD IDEA and was
creating another set of net pests.
Anyone here have a similar list experience? Or have any other suggestions
on how to deal with this? If this technique proliferates, blocking
originating addresses one-by-one in Majordomo seems futile.
>Date: Sat, 10 Feb 1996 23:52:26 GMT
>From: Heineke3@www.Heineken.com
>Mime-Version: 1.0
>Subject: E-card from Gilbert.v.Houten@inter.nl.net
[SNIP]
>
>This card was send to you by Gilbert.v.Houten@inter.nl.net.
>
>The card has been generated by the Heineken World Wide Web server.
>(http://www.Heineken.nl/)
>
>
>Content-Type: image/gif; name="e-card-59578.gif"
>Content-Disposition: inline; filename="e-card-59578.gif"
>Content-MD5: P6ADyMwIpzm5+dnsDZCOsg==
============================
Rowan Shirkie-Selene Communications
[ selene@niagara.com | VOX: + 905.687.9805 |
s-mail: 12 - 111 Fourth Avenue, Suite 200 | St. Catharines, ON, Canada L2S
3P5 ]
|
|