Posted to: List-Abuse, Listmom-Talk, List-Managers
It is underway again. Attached is a message I received yesterday ...
--- begin forwarded text
Date: Sat, 12 Apr 1997 18:28:26 -0500 (CDT)
From: "David St. Pierre" <david@SWBELL.net>
To: owner-humornet@csf.colorado.edu
Subject: please unsubscribe rickmac@swbell.net
rickmac@swbell.net was subscribed to a mailing list which you manage
without his permission.
he would really appreciate it if you could remove his entry as soon as
possible. we have been bouncing your mail to him for several days now,
and will continue to do so, at his request.
--- end forwarded text
I tracked down the subscription confirmation (well, the Welcome message),
and the original request was apparently formatted as such:
SUBSCRIBE HUMORNET RICKMAC SWBELL
Note -- the personal-info fields are filled by the local-part of the
address and the domain name (sans the top-level field). So I checked
this morning's subscriptions, and found several MORE just like it.
I think that the addresses under attack will be of interest to all of us;
including Rick's address, above, here is my current list:
rickmac@swbell.net
fumellif@ats.it
mario@Baskerville.it
info@baskerville.it
phant@rpi.edu
administrator@rcm.inet.it
cneedham@matrix.it
mark@galactica.it
I'd appreciate any confirmations to this list that others can provide
by cross-checking their lists.
Final note: In my case, I am NOT unsubscribing them -- I am setting
their accounts to POSTPONE, so that they will not receive list mail. Any
subssequent attempts at subscribing these addresses will result in "user
already subscribed" errors. And at least *one* of those addresses up
there has already had at least SIX subscription attempts since I caught
the first one.
- Vince Sabio
orionsoft@telephonet.com
--
If you run a mailing list and are tired of manually processing mail bounces,
then you probably need SmartBounce -- currently managing mailing lists in
excess of 150,000 subscribers. For more information, send a blank email to
<smartbounce@bsabio.com>.
--
<http://spam.abuse.net/spam/> Because The Only GOOD Spammer is a DEAD Spammer
Follow-Ups:
|
|