Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(November 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Invalid Email addresses in InterNIC whois database
From: "Nathan J. Mehl" <nmehl @ leftbank . com>
Date: Mon, 3 Nov 1997 23:01:38 -0500
To: Adam Bailey <adamb @ tezcat . com>
Cc: list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM
In-reply-to: <199711040300.VAA23562@quilla.tezcat.com>; from Adam Bailey on Mon, Nov 03, 1997 at 09:00:50PM -0500
References: <199711040300.VAA23562@quilla.tezcat.com>

In the immortal words of Adam Bailey (adamb@tezcat.com):
> 
> Of course, there are cases where the phone number and/or address are 
> clearly fake/nonexistent. They should at least do something about that.

At least in the case of phone numbers, I'm not so sure.

We've probably all had at least one run-in with a random creep,
psycho or stalker on the net.  (Does the name John Grubor ring
any bells?)  Putting that information out there is not necessarily
a good thing.  

-n, who set the phone number for the blank.org contact info to
    617-936-1234 for a reason.

--
The life of a sysadmin is always intense!
Nathan J. Mehl   ---   The LeftBank Operation
nmehl@leftbank.com -- http://www.leftbank.com
A Global Internet Company.  http://www.gi.net


References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: sunyjefferson.edu
From: "Brian J. Murrell" <brian@linux.ilinx.com>
Next: Re: Funny "bounce" message from Italy
From: "Nathan J. Mehl" <nmehl@leftbank.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Invalid Email addresses in InterNIC whois database
From: Adam Bailey <adamb@tezcat.com>
Next: Re: sunyjefferson.edu
From: Gillam Kerley <gkerley@execpc.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com