Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(November 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: AOL's Mail Controls
From: AdamKB @ aol . com
Date: Sat, 15 Nov 1997 15:08:45 -0500 (EST)
To: lstown-l @ searn . sunet . se, list-managers @ greatcircle . com, listmom-talk @ skylist . net, aol-list-owners @ listserv . aol . com

Some list owners have recently noticed an increased number of bounces from
AOL members, giving an error that looks something like:

>     ----- Transcript of session follows -----
>  .... while talking to air16.mail.aol.com.:
>  >>> RCPT To:<aoladdress@aol.com>
>  <<< 550 AOLAddress is not accepting mail from this sender
>  550 <aoladdress@AOL.COM>... User unknown

AOL's given its members Mail Controls some time that lets them block mail
from particular addresses/domains. Recently, these controls were updated to
allow AOL members to block all Internet mail. A lot of them are doing this,
because of the deluge of UCE they're getting hit with.

As a byproduct, many list postings are also getting blocked. From my
experience, this isn't done maliciously, it's just a matter of the person
forgetting about the list they're on or not really thinking their actions
through properly.

I've done a lot of experimentation on this subject. As far as I can tell,
AOL's Mail Controls block the "Return-Path" header (though I have had some
inconsistent results). If your list has a static Return-Path (as most do, to
direct bounces to the list admin and not the message's sender), then you can
have them un-block that address, and they'll get your postings fine. Note
that depending on your list manager, the Return-Path from command responses
might be different from the Return-Path of your list postings (ie: LISTSERV
generates a blank Return-Path, and can't be un-blocked).

Have fun...


-- 
Adam Bailey      | Chicago, Illinois
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-| "Do not take life too seriously;
adamb@tezcat.com | you will never get out of it alive."
adamkb@aol.com   |  - Elbert Hubbard
Finger for PGP   | http://www.tezcat.com/~adamb



Indexed By Date Previous: Re: Pro-Spammers mailing list
From: Chuq Von Rospach <chuqui@plaidworks.com>
Next: Re: Blocking all attachments
From: cecb@mhv.net
Indexed By Thread Previous: FAQ?
From: drjesus@iss.dccc.edu
Next: re: new anti-spam bounce messages???
From: "W. David Samuelsen" <dsam@wasatch.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com