Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(November 1999)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: What the happy hell is "Propagation Networks"?
From: "Theodore M. Smith" <tedsmith @ dimensional . com>
Date: Tue, 16 Nov 1999 12:51:46 -0700
To: <list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM>
Importance: Normal

	Pardon me for posting a question that is not related to mailing lists as
such, but I felt a number of you must have expertise on this subject.

	In addition to a mailing list I also run a website which is fairly heavily
trafficked.  It contains a message board.

	In the last twenty-four hours I have started getting emails from something
called "Propagation Networks" (one URL for it is http://propagation.net/).
The email simply notifies that _I_ have posted a message on my own message
board, or that someone else has posted a message replying to one of mine.

	I never asked for this service.  It does appear to be free of advertising,
at least.

	I don't know if only I as "owner" of the site get these announcements, or
if other users do, at least if they have posted email addresses on my site.
I'm posting a message right now to ask if anyone else is getting the
announcements.

	What can anyone tell me about this thing?  Should I like it, because if
others get the same message it may boost traffic?  Or should I hate it,
because it's going to annoy users?  Are there any considerations I'm
overlooking?

Thanks in advance for any information.

Ted Smith
Denver


Indexed By Date Previous: Re: AOL
From: Daniel Reed <djr@narnia.n.ml.org>
Next: Re: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: Daniel Reed <djr@narnia.n.ml.org>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Blocking bad attack out of mpx.com.au
From: Info-LabVIEW List Maintainer <info-labview-request@fsm-1.pica.army.mil>
Next: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: <jah@alien.bt.co.uk>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com