Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(November 1999)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: Daniel Reed <djr @ narnia . n . ml . org>
Date: Tue, 16 Nov 1999 15:05:50 -0500 (EST)
To: Jeffrey Goldberg <J . Goldberg @ Cranfield . ac . uk>
Cc: list-managers @ greatcircle . com, abuse @ mpx . com . au
In-reply-to: <Pine.LNX.4.10.9911161745520.10032-100000@neumann.ccc.cranfield.ac.uk>

On Tue, 16 Nov 1999, Jeffrey Goldberg wrote:
) On Tue, 16 Nov 1999 jah@alien.bt.co.uk wrote:
) > On Tue, 16 Nov 1999, Jeffrey Goldberg wrote:
) > > [...]  Do you have full headers of the bot's mailings?
) > > Are they all from the same network, mpx.net.au?
) > All the ones I have here are.
) Now the next question:  Are all the hit lists majordomo lists?
No. An email to the long-dead, ezmlm-managed <systalk@ml.org> mailing list
was forged from my address. Since <systalk@ml.org> no longer exists, the
message bounced back to me. I also, personally, got the same message sent
directly to my address with a
From: Pine.LNX.3.96.980323165716.13653C-100000@narnia.n.ml.org (the
Message-ID of a message I presumably sent to the systalk mailing list a year
ago, according to the timestamp in the ID). Note that this is the second
time it's happened, the first message read:
 [...]
] From: Pine.LNX.3.96.980323165716.13653C-100000@narnia.n.ml.org
] Sender: Pine.LNX.3.96.980323165716.13653C-100000@narnia.n.ml.org
] Received: from ggg (mel-0401-022.ports.iprimus.com.au [203.134.52.22])
]         by spdmraaa.compuserve.com (8.9.3/8.9.3/SUN-REL-1.0) with SMTP id
]     BAA21601
]         for <djr@narnia.n.ml.org>; Thu, 4 Nov 1999 01:03:16 -0500 (EST)
] Date: Thu, 4 Nov 1999 01:03:16 -0500 (EST)
] Message-Id: <199911040603.BAA21601@spdmraaa.compuserve.com>
] To: djr@narnia.n.ml.org
] Reply-To: Pine.LNX.3.96.980323165716.13653C-100000@narnia.n.ml.org
] Subject: hey wassup DJr ;)
] 
] Hey yaw, you not gonna beleive this yo. I found this place that gives ya access to like soooooo many hacked membership based sex/xxx sites for free man, no shit!!
] 
] Anyway, the secret address is http://SEX.Interactwithme.com ok? You jsut go there, and you get secret membership access, for free, too about (i think) 350 different sites.
] 
] when i see ya at school tomorrow, make sure you bring the damn bio sheets ok? btw, wtf r u doing using narnia.n.ml.org anyway?? wtf is up with that yaw, waj ya chage your addy again? newayz, later... im off to that http://SEX.interactwithme.com site again ;), catcha in class tommorow.

-- 
Daniel Reed <n@ml.org>
Linux - the choice of a GNU generation



Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: What the happy hell is "Propagation Networks"?
From: "Theodore M. Smith" <tedsmith@dimensional.com>
Next: Re: Blocking bad attack out of mpx.com.au
From: Jeremy Blackman <loki@maison-otaku.net>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: Jeffrey Goldberg <J.Goldberg@Cranfield.ac.uk>
Next: Re: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: Tim Pierce <twp@rootsweb.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com