Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(November 1999)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Blocking bad attack out of mpx.com.au
From: Info-LabVIEW List Maintainer <info-labview-request @ fsm-1 . pica . army . mil>
Date: Tue, 16 Nov 99 17:10:13 EST
To: list-managers @ greatcircle . com

>Someone (or their 'bot) is spamming majordomo based lists forging the
>addresses of legitimate subscribers.
>
>I have heard unconfirmed reports that other lists have been similarly hit,
>but have not yet confirmed that those were also out of mpx.com.au
>
>Nonetheless, I am blocking all mail to Cranfield.ac.uk from mpx.com.au
>(except to abuse or postmaster) as a preventative measure, until I hear
>from mpx or learn that the problem is resolved.

Yep. The BMW motorcycle list (which I admin, but not from here) got tagged
last week (or maybe the week before, I forget).

Came thru compuserve.com in that case.

                  Tom Coradeschi, Info-LabVIEW List Maintainer
                       <info-labview-owner@pica.army.mil>
                         http://labview.pica.army.mil/

Indexed By Date Previous: Re: AOL
From: Nick Simicich <njs@scifi.squawk.com>
Next: Re: Wassup spam [was Re: hey wassup uKCrypto ;)]
From: Tim Pierce <twp@rootsweb.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Blocking bad attack out of mpx.com.au
From: Jeremy Blackman <loki@maison-otaku.net>
Next: What the happy hell is "Propagation Networks"?
From: "Theodore M. Smith" <tedsmith@dimensional.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com