Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(October 2000)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: question about Majordomo
From: "Saffa Kemokai" <bforum @ sulima . com>
Date: Sun, 29 Oct 2000 17:45:44 -0500
To: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan @ ctcnet . org>, "Dan Liston" <dliston @ netscape . com>
Cc: "Majordomo Users" <majordomo-users @ GreatCircle . COM>
References: <Pine.LNX.4.21.0010251646430.13845-100000@obelix.umh.es> <39F755AC.751F935E@netscape.com> <39F7D4B7.73EFBF91@netzero.net> <39F8F2C4.2D96E2A@netscape.com> <083901c0412e$67c4b6a0$5001a8c0@SRPAVILION> <39FBA3EA.A36811F0@netscape.com> <001801c041c8$f71cd360$c2109318@ne.mediaone.net>

From: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan@ctcnet.org>
To: "Dan Liston" <dliston@netscape.com>
Cc: "Majordomo Users" <majordomo-users@GreatCircle.COM>
Sent: 29 October, 2000 11:54
Subject: Re: question about Majordomo


> Dan,
>
> These aren't theoreticals except for the insignificant factor that I've
> changed the domain part of the addresses, because I don't want to point to
> possible mail server problems at another organization or help the
harvesting
> of addresses from these archives for spam.
>
> The error message that I receive as list manager and that the sender of
the
> message receives is of this nature:
> "RE: Warning: a85226440@xyz.org - User unknown!"
>
> I can't remove such an address because there is no such address
subscribed!
>
> The a85226440 part of the address doesn't originate from the list of
> subscribers but _is_ found in the etc/mail aliases file for the list name.
> So, why do I receive error message like that whenever a message is sent to
> the list. I have been communicating with the folks at xyz.org but they can
> come up with any reason how these error messages are being generated.
>
>From my experience with this same/kind error msg, it is quite possible that
one of the addresses on the list (yours) is another list you don't have
access to. I am going through couple of this without any clue. Even when I
examine every address on my list, virtually impossible to tell which one.
When you find a clue, maybe you can share it with us.

Saffa
>
>    -Steve
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Dan Liston" <dliston@netscape.com>
> To: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan@ctcnet.org>
> Cc: "Majordomo Users" <majordomo-users@GreatCircle.COM>
> Sent: Saturday, October 28, 2000 11:13 PM
> Subject: Re: question about Majordomo
>
>
> > I don't understand your question.  Maybe due to the vagueness of
> theoreticals
> > rather than specifics.  It, they, that, the, first, second.  What does
it
> all
> > mean?
> >
> > If you get a bounce about an address being "User Unknown" remove that
> address
> > from your list.  Simple.
> >
> > Dan Liston
> >
> > Stephen Ronan wrote:
> > >
> > > Whenever, a message is sent to one of our lists that has some
> subscribers at
> > > one particular organization (let's call it xyz.org), I receive for
each
> > > subscriber a bounce mail error message with a subject line like this:
> > > "RE: Warning: a85226440@xyz.org - User unknown!"
> > > where the number at the start of the address corresponds to the number
> in
> > > the aliases file for the list name. As it happens they use our list
name
> for
> > > the first part of their subscription address in most cases as in
> > > listname@xyz.org. But I don't think that's the problem, because I
think
> even
> > > other subscribed addresses create the same problem.
> > > I notice in the header of a message that I myself receive from the
list
> that
> > > there are two Received.... for lines and the second is to the number
> that is
> > > appearing in the error messages, e.g. below it says "for a85226440".
> > >
> > > From owner-ctcm@ctcnetx.org Mon Oct 23 23:16:52 2000
> > >  Received: from ctcnet.org (ctcnet.org [209.95.106.127]) by
> shell1.zz.net
> > > (8.8.8/8.6.9) with ESMTP id XAA10838 for <jjj@zz.net>;
> > > Mon, 23 Oct 2000 23:16:52 -0400 (EDT)
> > > Received: (from ctcnet@localhost)
> > >        by ctcnetx.org (8.9.3/8.9.3) id LAA13782
> > >        for a85226440; Mon, 23 Oct 2000 11:13:32 -0700 (PDT)
> > >  From: "John Doe" <jdoe@z.com>
> > >
> > > So I'm wondering whether it may be that at that site's ISP the email
> server
> > > is trying to deal with the second Received... for part as if it refers
> to a
> > > real address. Has anyone encountered this problem or able to suggest a
> > > diagnosis/solution?
> > >
> > >           - Steve Ronan
> >
>
>
>




References:
Indexed By Date Previous: question/owner-majordomo
From: KompuKit <kompukit@andonet.com>
Next: Re: question/owner-majordomo
From: raf <raf@comdyn.com.au>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: question about Majordomo
From: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan@ctcnet.org>
Next: Re: question about Majordomo
From: Dan Liston <dliston@netscape.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com