Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(October 2000)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: question about Majordomo
From: Dan Liston <dliston @ netscape . com>
Organization: iPlanet E-Commerce Solutions, A Sun Netscape Alliance
Date: Sun, 29 Oct 2000 23:38:29 -0600
To: Majordomo Users <majordomo-users @ greatcircle . com>
References: <Pine.LNX.4.21.0010251646430.13845-100000@obelix.umh.es> <39F755AC.751F935E@netscape.com> <39F7D4B7.73EFBF91@netzero.net> <39F8F2C4.2D96E2A@netscape.com> <083901c0412e$67c4b6a0$5001a8c0@SRPAVILION> <39FBA3EA.A36811F0@netscape.com> <001801c041c8$f71cd360$c2109318@ne.mediaone.net>

The only possibilities I can think of without being able to examine your
exact configuration, is that your MTA is hosing your headers, or you have
a list/alias at another domain subscribed.

I do not for one understand why your MTA would say the message is "for
a85226440" in the headers, unless this was the name of your list.  If my
MTA received a message with such headers, you would get a "User Unknown"
error from my domain too.

Now, if I am domain abc.net, and you are domain xyz.com, and I am hosting
your lists for you, I need to make sure any mail leaving my system on your
behalf has headers that identify the origin of the message as xyz.com rather
than abc.net.  Any aliases specific to your domain will have your domain name
appended to the alias.  Sendmail example for hosted domain xyz.com at abc.net
with a listname of strange.

/etc/mail/virtusertable:
owner-strange@xyz.com		owner-xyx-strange
strange@xyz.com			xyz-strange
strange-owner@xyz.com		xyz-strange-owner
strange-request@xyz.com		xyz-strange-request
strange-approval@xyz.com	xyz-strange-approval
owner-strange-digest@xyz.com	owner-xyz-strange-digest
strange-digest@xyz.com		xyz-strange-digest
strange-digest-owner@xyz.com	xyz-strange-digest-owner
strange-digest-request@xyz.com	xyz-strange-digest-request
strange-digest-approval@xyz.com xyz-strange-digest-approval
NOTE: additional owner- and -owner aliases may be configured but are seldom if ever used.

/etc/mail/majordomo.aliases
owner-xyz-strange:	xyz-strange-owner
xyz-strange:	"|/majordomo/wrapper resend -C /majordomo/xyz/majordomo.cf -l strange xyz-strange-outgoing,nobody"
xyz-strange-outgoing: :include:/majordomo/xyz/lists/strange,xyz-strange-digestify,xyz-strange-archive
xyz-strange-owner:	someone@real.address.net
xyz-strange-request:	"|/majordomo/wrapper majordomo -C /majordomo/xyz/majordomo.cf -l strange"
xyz-strange-approval:	xyz-strange-owner
xyz-strange-archive:	"|/majordomo/wrapper archive2.pl -C /majordomo/xyz/majordomo.cf -f /majordomo/xyz/archive/strange/strange -a -M"
xyz-strange-digestify:	"|/majordomo/wrapper digest -r -C -c /majordomo/xyz/majordomo.cf -l strange-digest xyz-strange-digest,nobody"
xyz-strange-digest:	xyz-strange
xyz-strange-digest-outgoing: :include:/majordomo/xyz/lists/strange-digest
xyz-strange-digest-owner: xyz-strange-owner
xyz-strange-digest-request: "|/majordomo/wrapper request-answer -C /majordomo/xyz/majordomo.cf strange-digest"
xyz-strange-digest-approval: xyz-strange-owner
NOTE: same "NOTE:" as above

There would be a separate majordomo.cf for xyz.com in /majordomo/xyz that would have $listdir defined as /majordomo/xyz/lists, and $whereami would be defined as xyz.com.  $digest_work_dir, $homedir, etc may also be tweeked.
The strange.config and strange-digest.config would both have resend_host = xyz.com
Sendmail would be configured to "always_add_domain" and "use_virtusertable".

Dan Liston

Stephen Ronan wrote:
> 
> Dan,
> 
> These aren't theoreticals except for the insignificant factor that I've
> changed the domain part of the addresses, because I don't want to point to
> possible mail server problems at another organization or help the harvesting
> of addresses from these archives for spam.
> 
> The error message that I receive as list manager and that the sender of the
> message receives is of this nature:
> "RE: Warning: a85226440@xyz.org - User unknown!"
> 
> I can't remove such an address because there is no such address subscribed!
> 
> The a85226440 part of the address doesn't originate from the list of
> subscribers but _is_ found in the etc/mail aliases file for the list name.
> So, why do I receive error message like that whenever a message is sent to
> the list. I have been communicating with the folks at xyz.org but they can
> come up with any reason how these error messages are being generated.
> 
>    -Steve
> 
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Dan Liston" <dliston@netscape.com>
> To: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan@ctcnet.org>
> Cc: "Majordomo Users" <majordomo-users@GreatCircle.COM>
> Sent: Saturday, October 28, 2000 11:13 PM
> Subject: Re: question about Majordomo
> 
> > I don't understand your question.  Maybe due to the vagueness of
> theoreticals
> > rather than specifics.  It, they, that, the, first, second.  What does it
> all
> > mean?
> >
> > If you get a bounce about an address being "User Unknown" remove that
> address
> > from your list.  Simple.
> >
> > Dan Liston
> >
> > Stephen Ronan wrote:
> > >
> > > Whenever, a message is sent to one of our lists that has some
> subscribers at
> > > one particular organization (let's call it xyz.org), I receive for each
> > > subscriber a bounce mail error message with a subject line like this:
> > > "RE: Warning: a85226440@xyz.org - User unknown!"
> > > where the number at the start of the address corresponds to the number
> in
> > > the aliases file for the list name. As it happens they use our list name
> for
> > > the first part of their subscription address in most cases as in
> > > listname@xyz.org. But I don't think that's the problem, because I think
> even
> > > other subscribed addresses create the same problem.
> > > I notice in the header of a message that I myself receive from the list
> that
> > > there are two Received.... for lines and the second is to the number
> that is
> > > appearing in the error messages, e.g. below it says "for a85226440".
> > >
> > > From owner-ctcm@ctcnetx.org Mon Oct 23 23:16:52 2000
> > >  Received: from ctcnet.org (ctcnet.org [209.95.106.127]) by
> shell1.zz.net
> > > (8.8.8/8.6.9) with ESMTP id XAA10838 for <jjj@zz.net>;
> > > Mon, 23 Oct 2000 23:16:52 -0400 (EDT)
> > > Received: (from ctcnet@localhost)
> > >        by ctcnetx.org (8.9.3/8.9.3) id LAA13782
> > >        for a85226440; Mon, 23 Oct 2000 11:13:32 -0700 (PDT)
> > >  From: "John Doe" <jdoe@z.com>
> > >
> > > So I'm wondering whether it may be that at that site's ISP the email
> server
> > > is trying to deal with the second Received... for part as if it refers
> to a
> > > real address. Has anyone encountered this problem or able to suggest a
> > > diagnosis/solution?
> > >
> > >           - Steve Ronan
> >



Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: question/owner-majordomo
From: Dan Liston <dliston@netscape.com>
Next: Re: unknown mailer error - still - solution
From: David Klemp <dave@klemp.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: question about Majordomo
From: "Saffa Kemokai" <bforum@sulima.com>
Next: Re: question about Majordomo
From: "Stephen Ronan" <sronan@ctcnet.org>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com