Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(August 2001)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: is it just me or does this scare anyone else? "Intelligence" Gatherers
From: fty @ cisco . com
Date: Thu, 2 Aug 2001 07:29:07 -0400 (EDT)
To: Majordomo-users @ GreatCircle . COM



Is there a facility for blocking certain email addrs completely
from the server?  Should there be?

- Frank

===================================================
Forwarded from the Computer Digest List -- for those of you who run
listserves

From: Scott Peterson <scottp4@mindspring.com>
Date: 11 Jul 2001 09:36:16 -0700
Subject: 2s2i.com: "Intelligence" Gatherers

I run an unmoderated email list for dog breeders.  Yesterday I received
two requests to subscribe from

 parker@CHRISDOWNEY.NET parker J. Johnson
 pearl@CHRISDOWNEY.NET pearl J. Johnson

This was a bit suspicious as they arrived within seconds of each other
from an ISP I didn't recognize with identical initials and almost
identical names right down to failure to capitalize the first name on
both.

I typically don't get subscriptions like that.  I checked the WHOIS
information on this site and found that it was owned by
chris_downey@2s2i.com. I thought at first that these must be spammers
wanting to collect email addresses.  However, after looking at their
web page, www.2s2i.com , they are much more insidious.

They claim that they can provide "intelligence" to companies by reading
messages from message boards, usenet, web forums and email lists using
addresses at chrisdowney.net and cpdmail.com to harvest this
information.

Since then I've seen complaints from a number of list owners that
they've been hit with multiple subscriptions from these people.    I'm
sure they aren't the first and won't be the last to do this, but it's
not a nice prospect.

                            Scott Peterson

--
Scott Wyant
Manager of Information Technology
School of Cinema-Television
University of Southern California
swyant@cinema.usc.edu

\\\\////\\\\////\\\\\////\\\\\////\\\\////\\\\////\\\\////\\\\////\\\\////\\\\
Frank Terhaar-Yonkers      W4FTY   TRA 8325/L2
Cisco Systems, Inc.
NSITE - Pineview Building - RTP
7025 Kit Creek Road  PO Box 14987
Research Triangle Park,  North Carolina  27709
fty@cisco.com   voice(919)392-2101 fx(919)392-6927



Follow-Ups:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: Header replied to variable
From: "Dale Bryant" <dbryant@mainnet.com>
Next: bounced posts are split!
From: SUZANA BT ZAHRI <suzana@kym.edu.my>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Majordomo and email viruses
From: Joe Hartley <jh@dynamicdiagrams.com>
Next: Re: is it just me or does this scare anyone else? "Intelligence" Gatherers
From: Joe Hartley <jh@dynamicdiagrams.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com