Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(August 2002)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Question about subscribers who have domains which have aliases.
From: "Steven W. Orr" <steveo @ syslang . net>
Date: Thu, 15 Aug 2002 21:52:35 -0400 (EDT)
To: Majordomo-users <majordomo-users @ greatcircle . com>
In-reply-to: <3D5C51DE.6017E49A@sonny.org>

I have a few lists that I run here. Some of the people on my lists are 
from world.std.com which is a company here in Brookline Mass called 
Software Tool and Die. Over the years they also bought the domain 
world.com as well as theworld.com. My problem is as follows:

Joe Shmoe signs up for a list as js@world.std.com and everything is hunky 
dory. The list is copied to list.restrict to prevent people who are not on 
the list from being able to post. Then he send mail again but this time 
his from addr is js@theworld.com instead of js@world.std.com. This causes 
majordomo to reject the message thinking that the message is coming from 
someone who is not in the restrict list. 

I realize that this may not be a majordomo problem. Is there a way to fix 
this in majordomo? And if not, is there a way to fix this in sendmail?

Many thank all.

-- 
-Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like a banana. Stranger things have -
-happened but none stranger than this. Does your driver's license say Organ
-Donor?Black holes are where God divided by zero. Listen to me! We are all-
-individuals! What if this weren't a hypothetical question? steveo@syslang.net





Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: bulk_mailer (and precedence headers).
From: Daniel Liston <dliston@sonny.org>
Next: Re: Question about subscribers who have domains which have aliases.
From: Chip Old <fold@bcpl.net>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: schlock error
From: Daniel Liston <dliston@sonny.org>
Next: Re: Question about subscribers who have domains which have aliases.
From: Chip Old <fold@bcpl.net>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com