Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(August 2003)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Daniel Liston <dliston @ sonny . org>
Date: Thu, 28 Aug 2003 22:48:45 -0500
To: owner @ writestop . com
Cc: Majordomo-users @ greatcircle . com
In-reply-to: <200308281445.38559.owner@writestop.com>
References: <200308281445.38559.owner@writestop.com>
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.5b) Gecko/20030827

The Osirusoft RBL is/was flagging EVERY domain as a spam domain while
it was under a DoS attack.  I am not sure if the service is still up
or not, but many anti-spam mailing lists and slashdot reported the
osirusoft problem and to stop using it immediately.

Spread the word to postmasters everywhere when you see bounces similar
to this one about the RBL doing what it is doing.  Some people are
still not aware, and the result is bouncing every received message as
spam.  If you yourself are configured to use relays.osirusoft.com for
anti-spam, change your configuration now.

Sendmail users....
If you have this in your sendmail.mc file, comment it out by prefixing
the line with dnl like this;

dnl FEATURE(dnsbl, `relays.osirusoft.com', `"Relay spam denied - see \
http://relays.osirusoft.com/cgi-bin/rbcheck.cgi?addr="$&{client_addr}')dnl

Then remake your sendmail.cf from it using an included Makefile or the
m4 command.

Dan Liston

Diana Kirk wrote:
> It has come up on this list from time to time the blacklisting versus 
> whitelisting issue. I haven't paid much attention because the lists I 
> run are small. However, I've begun to see the following message.
> 
>    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> user@indianvalley.com
>     (reason: 550 Found your system (64.xx.xxx.xx) in open relay service 
> (relays.osirusoft.com) (64.xx.xxx.xx))
>     (expanded from: include:/usr/local/majordomo/lists/listname)
> 
> Does this mean my list (or IP address the list is coming from) has been 
> put on some sort of black list?
> 
> If so, how do I go about fixing this? It only affects one list member so 
> far. We do have people with Yahoo! and Hotmail addresses, but none of 
> them have been affected.
> 
> I'd like to deal with this before it becomes a general problem.
> 
> Thanks,
> Diana




Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Frank Bax <fbax@sympatico.ca>
Next: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Diana Kirk <owner@writestop.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Frank Bax <fbax@sympatico.ca>
Next: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: "Roger B.A. Klorese" <rogerk@queernet.org>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com