Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(August 2003)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Diana Kirk <owner @ writestop . com>
Date: Thu, 28 Aug 2003 20:55:47 -0400
To: Majordomo-users @ greatcircle . com
In-reply-to: <7CEFA9CA4D5BE74586551915EC9C9C335270A2@consera1.corpnet.consera.com>
References: <7CEFA9CA4D5BE74586551915EC9C9C335270A2@consera1.corpnet.consera.com>
Reply-to: owner @ writestop . com
User-agent: KMail/1.5

I want to thank everyone for their responses. They were all helpful for 
my understanding a little better not only what's happening in this 
case, but what to do in case my lists actually do get blacklisted.

I have a dedicated server. You know the kind of thing: I pay a small 
monthly fee for x amount of space and x amount of bandwidth. It has 
generous amounts for my needs.

AFAIK, the only mail going to and from (or through) that server should 
be mail coming to one of my domains. There are only two mailing lists, 
and they represent just about all the mail that the server handles. 
I've not done anything about configuring Sendmail at all -- whatever 
the people I'm renting it from did seems fine. I have about five IP 
blocks on it, but that's it.

Also, I'm using traps suggested by people on this list to stop HTML and 
attachments. They represent a few Perl statements about taboo header 
and taboo body contents in my configs for the two lists.

I must thank you all again for those traps. They were invaluable during 
the spate of sobig e-mail, and they worked beautifully.

I will write the postmaster@indianvalley.com as well as try to contact 
the list member about what happened.

Thanks again for your help,
Diana

On Thursday 28 August 2003 06:10 pm, Roger B.A. Klorese wrote:
> > Does this mean my list (or IP address the list is coming
> > from) has been
> > put on some sort of black list?
>
> Yes. Sort of.
>
> > If so, how do I go about fixing this? It only affects one
> > list member so
> > far. We do have people with Yahoo! and Hotmail addresses, but none
> > of them have been affected.
>
> In this case, you call the user on the phone and have them tell their
> ISP that OsiruSoft is returning positives for EVERY HOST ON THE
> INTERNET, and they should stop using it.
>
> Or you might try mail to postmaster@THEIR-DOMAIN first, as correctly
> configured sites don't block that...



Follow-Ups:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Daniel Liston <dliston@sonny.org>
Next: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: "Roger B.A. Klorese" <rogerk@queernet.org>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Diana Kirk <owner@writestop.com>
Next: Re: How to solve being blacklisted
From: Brian Ventura <bventura@austin.sns.slb.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com