Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(March 2004)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
From: "Kevin Schroeder" <kschroeder @ mirageworks . com>
Date: Wed, 31 Mar 2004 13:01:52 -0600
To: "Ed Gregory" <ed @ gregorynet . net>
Cc: <Majordomo-Users @ greatcircle . com>
References: <EPEFJIBFHCODDDPKEJOBOEDBFFAA.ed@gregorynet.net>

Hey, you're not the only one having to deal with this.  About 2 years ago I
had a client who was hosting about 500 web sites at that time and some idiot
on the same class C sent some spam out and the entire class C was blocked.
I've even had AOL block my client's server because one of his clients sent
out some spam.  So AOL proceeded to block the entire server for about 800
email addresses.

Any kind of IP based blacklisting, regardless of if it blocks a class C or a
single IP address has the potential to cause false-positives.  And
unfortunately, unless you're dealing with a company like AOL that you can
call on the phone and plead your case to you will probably be on that
blacklist until the ones who maintain it take you off.

I've had plenty of clients complain about the type of blocking that you're
describing and for all the research I've done (and I've done a lot) the only
way to get off of a majority of the RBLs is to wait.

Kevin Schroeder
Learn about the Novalox spam filter at http://www.novalox.com/

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Ed Gregory" <ed@gregorynet.net>
To: "Roger B.A. Klorese" <rogerk@queernet.org>
Cc: "MajorDomo Administrator, MSER:EX" <Majordomo.Admin@gems1.gov.bc.ca>;
<Majordomo-Users@greatcircle.com>
Sent: Wednesday, March 31, 2004 12:31 PM
Subject: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL


> (Roger - I stand corrected about the number of IP addresses in a block. I
> apologizing for not realizing I had to know everything in order to get
your
> permission to be involved in Internet services.)
>
> So the AHBL blacklist only blocks 255 innocent mail servers. It still
poses
> a very serious threat. It's something that list owners and managers need
to
> know about.
>
> The ISP who used the AHBL's block-level blacklist to block my client's
> mailing list didn't explain the nuances of the political motive behind
> blacklisting an entire block of addresses. It simply told its customer:
>
> "The reason why you are not receiving mail from pleiku pals is it appears
> they are using a known spam relay (team4champions.com) to send out their
> mailing list."
>
> This was absolutely incorrect. It didn't say the customer's legitimate
> income email was blocked because a group of activists want to pressure the
> owner of an entire block IP addresses to do something (even if they could)
> to stop the one identified spammer among that 256-address block. It simply
> said, erroneously, that my client's email list was delivered through
"known
> spam relay."
>
> The AHBL approach might divert bit a few drops from the river of spam. But
> it also prevents ordinary people from receiving legitimate email from the
> rest of the servers in that block. It blindly intercepts potentially
> life-changing email from their employer or a potential new employer,
> clients, customers, their bank, their lawyer, a lover, a friend.
>
> This misguided activism has incalculable and perhaps permanent impact on
the
> lives of many, many innocent people.
>
> People want ISPs to block spam. They don't want ISPs to interfere with
their
> legitimate email.
>
>
> -Ed Gregory
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Roger B.A. Klorese [mailto:rogerk@queernet.org]
> Sent: Wednesday, March 31, 2004 10:29 AM
> To: Ed Gregory
> Cc: MajorDomo Administrator, MSER:EX; Majordomo-Users@greatcircle.com
> Subject: Re: [majordomo-users] Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
>
>
> Ed Gregory wrote:
>  > The AHBL service identifies every IP between 66.70.158.0 and
> 66.70.158.999
>  > as a spammer.
>
> No, they don't.
>
> I'm not supporting their methods, but...
>
> They're identifying every IP in that range (and, by the way, they only
> go up to .255 -- perhaps you should learn some basic TCP/IP before being
> in the hosting business?) as being *owned* by an ISP that supports
> spammers -- putting economic pressure on you, their customer, to go
> somewhere else.
>



References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
From: "Roger B.A. Klorese" <rogerk@queernet.org>
Next: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
From: Lee <lee_19712003@yahoo.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
From: "Roger B.A. Klorese" <rogerk@queernet.org>
Next: Re: Wholesale blacklisting by AHBL
From: Lee <lee_19712003@yahoo.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com