Great Circle Associates Majordomo-Users
(January 2007)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Spurious Rejects?
From: abbott @ techniserve . com
Date: Fri, 26 Jan 2007 16:36:14 -0500
To: majordomo-users @ greatcircle . com

----Original Message----
><Sorry for the obfuscation, but I do not want to post details on a public list. If anyone would like to see the actual log, feel free to email me directly.>
>
>Why is this email getting rejected? Does MD 1.94.5 filter on something other than the From? How can I get MD to allow these valid emails?

Check the Reply-to:  address.  That is the important one.  I have my users use a correct Reply-to: if they are using some other mail service than their actual address.

Many times the user doesn't know their real address or has email program programmed with user @
 mail .
 ### .
 com which is the same as user @
 ### .
 com .
 

You can also configure a post-only file and put alternative addresses for your users in that file in same format as the user list.  Just add the file name in the restrict-post setting. e.g.:

restrict_post       =   listname listname-digest listname-post-only




OR...

It may be your own mail server.  It rejected my first reply direct to you.

Recipient: <lvl @
 omnitec .
 net> 
Reason: <mta2.adelphia.net[68.168.78.178]>: Client host rejected: Access denied




Regards,
Bob Abbott


 --------------------------
 abbott @
 techniserve .
 com
 http://www.techniserve.com
 --------------------------


Indexed By Date Previous: Spurious Rejects?
From: "L. V. Lammert" <lvl@omnitec.net>
Next: Re: New User Question HTML Mail
From: Daniel Liston <dliston@sonny.org>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Spurious Rejects?
From: "L. V. Lammert" <lvl@omnitec.net>
Next: Windows Port
From: "Daniel Kaliel" <Daniel.Kaliel@jjbedmonton.com>